Cold emails/cold calling is probably the most brutal part of trying to start a business.

It is one of the most emotionally taxing things I have ever had to do. I am going to be using this blog to discuss my efforts to try and hit £1m in turnover from doing copywriting and online marketing for clients.

I am very worried I will never get there but I am going to give myself 1 year from today, so basically by 1 October 2011, I want to have hit £1m in consulting turnover.

I will be detailing my efforts on this blog to keep up to date with my efforts!

So far this week, I have sent about 528 cold emails to clients. From this I got:

*Dozens of rejections

*5 replies back from companies who may be interested in employing me.

I am charging a flat fee of £100 per client, so in that sense, I need to get 10,000 clients. Can it be done? I think so, but it will be brutal.

My ratio so far is around 1/100 cold emails generates an interested response, so I have to send 1 million cold replies to hit 10,000 clients.

Other good entrepreneur blogs to read include this one, which is doing a similar challenge.

